Detroit Red Wings Grind Line Inducted as Michigan Treasures by Michigan Sports Hall of Fame

Photo: Dave Reginek / Contributor

DETROIT, October 4, 2021 ~ The famed Detroit Red Wings Grind Line — consisting of Kirk Maltby, Kris Draper, Darren McCarty, and Joe Kocur — was awarded the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame’s Treasure Award during the October 1 induction ceremony at MotorCity Casino Hotel Sound Board.

The award was actually won for 2020, though the ceremony never happened due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

About to, within an hour, be inducted along with my grind allying teammates Kris Draper, Joey Kocur, Kirk Maltby, into the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame as a Michigan Treasure,” said Darren McCarty at the awards ceremony on Friday. “I couldn’t be more honored.”

October 1, 2021 ~ The Darren McCarty Show live from the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame enshrinement.

With Draper at center ice, Maltby at left wing, and either Kocur or McCarty at right, the line was proficient at grinding — hence their name — and helped the team win four Stanley Cups.

Draper, Maltby and McCarty are among a group of only five — the others being Nicklas Lidstrom and Tomas Holmstrom — who were players on all four of the Wings’ most recent Stanley Cup-winning rosters.

Someone at the event commented that the only more famous Red Wings line is The Production Line, featuring Gordie Howe, Sid Abel and Ted Lindsay.

The Production Line, they’re all in the Hall of Fame, world-class players,” said Kirk Maltby. “I appreciate the comment, but we can’t even come close to that line.”